NSA Information

Further Education and Training (FET) 

As a national requirement all schools are required to comply with the regulations of the Further Education and Training (FET) component of the Curriculum and Assessment Policy statements (CAPS) and culminates in the awarding of a National Senior Certicate (NSC) at the end of the Grade 12 year.
To obtain a NSCa candidate must offer the following components:

A Fundamental Learning Component comprising:


two languages, one being English Home Language and the other being Afrikaans or isiZulu or Sesotho First Additional Language, Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy and Life Orientation.


An Elective Learning Component comprising:


at least two subjects selected from: Business Studies, Geography, History, Life Sciences and Physical Sciences.


A Specialist Learning Component comprising:


one subject from Dance Studies, Design Studies, Dramatic Arts, Music Studies and Visual Arts.